Culture Street

By Sophia Whitfield

Top musical artists from six countries have received a once in a lifetime opportunity to contribute to Star Trek into Darkness. For the first time ever vocalists and music producers from around the world were invited to add their creative talents to a track written for a major motion picture, which will be featured in the film during its run in each of the artists’ respective countries.
The opportunity drew interest from the world's hottest talent including Australia-based songwriter and producer Robert Conley and singing star Penelope Austin who have recorded an original song for J.J. Abrams’ highly anticipated Star Trek into Darkness, released in Australia on May 9.

Moviegoers in each of the countries taking part will hear a unique soundtrack. This opportunity, in which the artist’s own song will play during a pivotal scene with Star Trek’s iconic character Scotty, drew interest from the world’s hottest talent, including Australia’s Conley and Austin—who will now hear their work in the soundtrack in every cinema in Australia.

The Dark Collide, which Conley co-wrote with Austin, will be heard on the Star Trek into Darkness soundtrack which will also feature Academy Award-winning composer Michael Giacchino’s score.

Star Trek into Darkness, one of the most anticipated films of 2013, starring Zoe Saldana and Benedict Cumberbatch, will premiere in Sydney tonight.


You Might Also Like


By Sophia Whitfield

On November 29, 2012


Trailer just released for Life of Pi

The trailer has just been released for the film adaptation of Yann Martel's  Life of Pi, winner of the 2002 Man Booker Prize.

On July 27, 2012

Film review: The Call

By Sophia Whitfield

On May 16, 2013

Django Unchained

By Rebecca McRitchie

On January 29, 2013

Film review: The Words

By Sophia Whitfield

On October 23, 2012


Global trailer released for The Shadow Recruit

Tom Clancy's novel is heading to the screen early next year. A brand new trailer has just been released.

On October 16, 2013
Copyright © 2012 - 2020 Culture Street